Login |  Contact Us  |  Home
OCENET Home Page Ottawa International Student Program Ottawa-Carleton District School Board

Fast Facts



Geography and Climate






The educational system of Vietnam is represented by a broad government-controlled network of schools, universities and colleges. It has five classifications:

  • Pre-primary or kindergarten accepts children from the ages of 18 months to five years.  It is not compulsory and is generally popular in major cities such as Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh, Da Nang, Hai Phong, Can Tho, and Vung Tau.

  • Primary education is the normal starting level for most Vietnamese and is required for every student. It admits children at six years of age and lasts for five years. After finishing the fifth grade, students need to pass the Elementary Graduation Examination (EGE).

  • Intermediate education consists of grades six to nine and graduating students are required to pass the Intermediate Graduation Examination (IGE).

  • Secondary education, or high school, is from grades 10 to 12 and students must attend a graduation test given by each province’s education service. The test is generally has six subjects, three of which are always included – foreign language, mathematics, and literature.

  • Higher Education - All students aspiring to go to a college or a university must pass the University Entrance Examination (UEE).


Schools and universities in Vietnam use a 10-point grading scale, with 10 being the highest and 0 being the lowest. Often, 5 is the lowest passing grade.

The Vietnamese syllabus is very demanding, even much more intensive than that of a North American placement course. An average Grade-Point Score (GPS) of 9.0 to 10.0 might be classified as equivalent to 3.8 to 4.0 of a North-American Grade-Point Average (GPA). The grading may vary from school to school.

There are usually four levels in the classification of a Vietnamese GPS.

  • 9 –10 Excellent A
  • 7 – 8 Good B
  • 5 – 6 Fair C
  • 0 – 4 Failing F
© 2009 Ottawa-Carleton Education Network